Upgrade live server - Printable Version +- SphereCommunity (https://forum.spherecommunity.net) +-- Forum: Sphere 0.56d (/Forum-Sphere-0-56d) +--- Forum: General Help (/Forum-General-Help) +--- Thread: Upgrade live server (/Thread-Upgrade-live-server) |
Upgrade live server - Eledrianek - 08-15-2014 07:11 AM Hi, I want to upgrade my live shard to newer version of SphereServer. Right now we are using this one: "Sphere Version 0.56b [WIN32] by http://www.sphereserver.com, compiled at Sep 20 2009 (20:00:04)" Our server is highly customized. Using script pack or sth like that is not an option. I need to make it work with our scripts only. I would like to start using many of new features and hoping for better stability too. But could you tell me what things I need to do to convert my scripts or settings? Its clear to me that some problems appear in process itself but I want to be ready as much as possible and had as much knowledge in advance. Thanks for any help... RE: Upgrade live server - Extreme - 08-15-2014 09:24 AM First off you need merge your sphere.ini with the newest one. Then you will have to merge the scripts changes if needed on base pack, ie: sphere_defs, etc... After that you run you server and see if it is working as you want. Any other question, feel free to ask. RE: Upgrade live server - Eledrianek - 08-15-2014 09:57 AM Thanks for your reply. Please, could you recommend me what stable build I should use? I need stable and bug-free (as much as possible) build. I dont know if I should use prerelease, nightly ... or....? Thanks RE: Upgrade live server - Extreme - 08-15-2014 01:11 PM I recommend the lastest nightly but keep in mind it can get new bugs while older bugs are fixed. But last builds we had a lot of changes and the dev team is working hard to fix the new bugs quickly, just read the svn log http://sphere.torfo.org/log/ and you will see that we have many updates per week. So, if your last build is fault or buggy, the next one will be good. We have to accept the bugs and wait the fixes or do it ourself. RE: Upgrade live server - Eledrianek - 08-16-2014 02:10 AM Hi, I started the work on the upgrade... and I have few questions. I know the reason why this error appears, but Im looking for some easier way to fix it in wholesale: Code: 17:15:ERROR:(brneni_barevne.scp,2469)Setting new id for base type i_rusty_ringmail_tunic not allowed Another mass occurrence of the errors while new build starting is this one: Code: 17:15:ERROR:UID=0430cd7ac, id=04762 'Shadow Ringmail Tunic', Invalid code=2230 (Item equipped in the trade window layer but it isn't a trade window) Another error: Code: 18:09:ERROR:(brneni_obleceni.scp,63)Item:Hitpoints assigned for non-weapon i_robe_necromancer_great And last: Code: 17:15:CRITICAL:"Access Violation" (0x13740f), in CChar::CanMoveWalkTo() #1 "Check Valid Move" Thanks for any help RE: Upgrade live server - Extreme - 08-16-2014 02:38 AM Code: 17:15:ERROR:(brneni_barevne.scp,2469)Setting new id for base type i_rusty_ringmail_tunic not allowed Another mass occurrence of the errors while new build starting is this one: Code: 17:15:ERROR:UID=0430cd7ac, id=04762 'Shadow Ringmail Tunic', Invalid code=2230 (Item equipped in the trade window layer but it isn't a trade window) Check if after the error appear, try .gouid UID and see if the item still existing. If yes, there is nothing to worry. If they are removed, you will have to find all of them and send it to somewhere like player backpack or bank. Another error: Code: 18:09:ERROR:(brneni_obleceni.scp,63)Item:Hitpoints assigned for non-weapon i_robe_necromancer_great And last: Code: 17:15:CRITICAL:"Access Violation" (0x13740f), in CChar::CanMoveWalkTo() #1 "Check Valid Move" RE: Upgrade live server - Eledrianek - 08-16-2014 03:00 AM Thank you for your quick answer. The first problem is related to origin lots of our items - to 51a age. [itemdef 04555] defname=i_golden_platemail_legs name="Golden Platemail Legs" id=01411 We are still using this number based itemdef. My question is if I have other choice than change every single item manually. ---- About the trade window layer...item is not existing anymore ( and logs takes more than 7k lines and I have no idea how to transfer this items to correct layer. Is this possible to track how this error arise some way? --- About walk in .ini: Code: // Walk limiting code: buffer size (in tenths of second) RE: Upgrade live server - RanXerox - 08-16-2014 03:19 AM The latest sphere clients allocate items way up to 09999 (and possibly higher) so yeah, you need to edit all those custom duplicate items to not use numbers in the itemdef. This explains why you are getting those odd trade window layer and hitpoint messages... because itemdef 04555 is probably a wall or some other unexpected thing and the server gets default values for stuff from the *mul or *uop files if they are not defined in the script etc. More tips on upgrading: * Carefully check your current sphere_spells.scp against the latest script pack... there are many changes in there relating to FLAGS and other things. * Same goes for sphere_skills.scp file. * Carefully check the current sphere_defs.scp file... there are LOTS of changes in there, especially relating to flags. * Also sphere_msgs.scp needs to be up to date. * Be careful of the "static" items in your world (items with ATTR that includes 08000)... make sure they are not being deleted/lost during a world save. RE: Upgrade live server - Eledrianek - 08-16-2014 10:10 AM Thank you for your reply. I already fix the problem with numbers in itemdef which - as you said - fix other problems with layer and hitpoints. But now Im facing different problem - with houses. I cant figure how I can transfer our houses to new version and I add defs_2.scp to our scripts and I tried to unite defnames. Gem bit with t_multi is place properly but house is not visible. I register the changes about multidefs but I cant successfully even one house. What is the correct procedure? Our homes are defined as follows: Code: [itemdef 0406a] And I transfer this script into this format: Code: [MULTIDEF 06a] And still no success...ifve tried different approach too but ... RE: Upgrade live server - Extreme - 08-16-2014 01:02 PM Are you using .debug ? |