SphereCommunity

Full Version: looking for maps and other questions
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi all, I would like to try my hand at making some custom maps for my first sphere shard / server. There are LOTS of posts on maps and how they are made.

I was going to take the steps...

1) Adobe CS5 / 6
2) use the landscape tool and load the swatches
3) make the terrain.bmp
3a) attempt to make some minining, water, and mountainous areas
4) convert and create the altitude bmp
5) generate the mul, idx, etc.

I am NOT a artist, If I was to get a rough sketch and explain the pieces, would someone be able to help rough out the map(s) ?
Making a custom map for your very first server will be a massive undertaking, and if you want to make a good map expect to spend weeks just drawing the terrain map in Photoshop.

Here's a screenshot of my map in-game, this map took 3 weeks just to design in the terrain editor, and as you can see, I only have one city built (and it's not even completed).

To really make a map that rivals the quality of OSI will probably take a VERY long time.

Not trying to discourage you or anything, I'm just saying, getting a roughing map is the easy part. It'll take you a very long time to get that level of detail you're going to want. Smile

The tools I use:
- Photoshop (duh)
- MapGenerator2 (For terrain generation)
- CentrED (For building cities/statics)
nice map Big Grin

what of the original maps it subtistute ?
(08-02-2012 09:18 PM)darksun84 Wrote: [ -> ]nice map Big Grin

Hmm? I don't understand what you mean? Smile
(08-02-2012 11:01 PM)Rayvolution Wrote: [ -> ]
(08-02-2012 09:18 PM)darksun84 Wrote: [ -> ]nice map Big Grin

Hmm? I don't understand what you mean? Smile
Felluca, Trammel, Ilshenar, Tokuno, Malas, Ter Mur...
What of these you changed to the new one.
I think this is his question.
yes that was the question Blush