Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 3 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
World Background Spawner
Author Message
Mordaunt
Super Moderator
****

Posts: 1,237
Likes Given: 26
Likes Received: 55 in 43 posts
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 35



Post: #11
RE: World Background Spawner
v1.9 Uploaded:

NEW: "Red Spawns" script will now randomly place monster spawn groups according to terrain and % chance set in defs
"Graveyard Spawning" script will now place undead spawns in graveyards according to settings in defs

[Image: 2nis46r.jpg]
12-18-2012 12:37 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
htid4life
Journeyman
*

Posts: 162
Likes Given: 27
Likes Received: 4 in 3 posts
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 2



Post: #12
RE: World Background Spawner
So i think you should do dungeons now get off your backside n do it !!!

[Image: htid.jpg]
12-19-2012 01:48 AM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
Mordaunt
Super Moderator
****

Posts: 1,237
Likes Given: 26
Likes Received: 55 in 43 posts
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 35



Post: #13
RE: World Background Spawner
v1.9a
Updated instructions for use with SCP

[Image: 2nis46r.jpg]
01-05-2013 08:19 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
oONautilusOo
Apprentice
*

Posts: 29
Likes Given: 0
Likes Received: 2 in 1 posts
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 3



Post: #14
RE: World Background Spawner
Hi Mordaunt,

I'm currently setting up this awesome tool! I can see how the basics of it work. In the instructions you mention

"Overwrite default sphere_types.scp file with the one containing t_forest & t_jungle (requires server restart)"

Where would i get the new sphere_types.scp i downloaded the community pack for ease of use. have edited all the string names to fit. however cannot find this file.

Also you have "gembit_gap 20 //gap between gembits (suggested: water ~200, forest & grass ~75, town & jungle ~50, sand, snow & swamp ~40, dirt ~30, GY 20)"

Is there a way to set this for each area or is the 1 option here the only one available. If possible could you advise me how to do each individual area?

Thanks for your time in advance Smile
(This post was last modified: 01-25-2013 10:41 PM by oONautilusOo.)
01-25-2013 10:37 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
Mordaunt
Super Moderator
****

Posts: 1,237
Likes Given: 26
Likes Received: 55 in 43 posts
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 35



Post: #15
RE: World Background Spawner
the sphere_types.scp file is in your scripts folder, however if when you originally installed sphere you also grabbed and installed the base script package that is listed alongside the download, then that file already contains those types as I submitted them for inclusion since they would benefit the server as a whole.

I have been trying to come up with a way to have the server spawn all the terrrain types as once without it having to loop over the map multiple times to do so, as I think that may be a little too much and cause the server to hang. However as of the last time I had a go at it it was unsuccessful.
So in order to spawn terrains with different gembit gaps, unfortunately, what you have to do is turn on the ones you want in the defs, turn off the others, set the gembit gap, save, resync, do the function and then repeat. A bit of a hassle yes, but still like a thousand times faster than having to go and spawn the world manually.

water ~200, forest & grass ~75, town & jungle ~50, sand, snow & swamp ~40, dirt ~30, GY 20

Those numbers are the gaps I came up with that seemed to work best (for me I must add) so if yuo were to follow them you would only have to tweak and run the function 6 times, assuming that you are spawning water.

[Image: 2nis46r.jpg]
01-26-2013 12:01 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
Soulless
Super Moderator
****

Posts: 336
Likes Given: 29
Likes Received: 49 in 27 posts
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 12

Ye Olde Sphere

Post: #16
RE: World Background Spawner
just wanted to say this is brilliant, though i dont need it Sad sad days. ive had the same world map for 8 years.
03-02-2013 11:11 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
Xan
Apprentice
*

Posts: 8
Likes Given: 2
Likes Received: 1 in 1 posts
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 0



Post: #17
RE: World Background Spawner
OK, so the past few days I've been wracking my brain trying to solve this on my own but alas, I have to ask...

How do you spawn the other facets? I see in the installation instructions you have .spawnbackground <mapplane> but what exactly should I be using for <mapplane>? I've tried .spawnbackground map2, .spawnbackground map 2, .spawnbackground Malas, (and all other combinations for the various facets). and the only thing that happens is a message to my client saying that "Spawning for Map: 0 Complete!" and on the server a message that says 19:49:(function_spawnbackground.scp,184)Spawning Mapplane 0.

I know there's gotta be something painfully obvious that I'm missing here to get this to work.

I must say though, awesome script (even if I can only get it working for the first map Tongue)
05-10-2013 09:53 AM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
Mordaunt
Super Moderator
****

Posts: 1,237
Likes Given: 26
Likes Received: 55 in 43 posts
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 35



Post: #18
RE: World Background Spawner
Yeah it's simpler than you think <mapplane> is just the number of the map you want to spawn.

.spawnbackground
.spawnbackground 1
.spawnbackground 2
.spawnbackground 3
.spawnbackground 4
.spawnbackground 5

No longer needed in gumped version

[Image: 2nis46r.jpg]
(This post was last modified: 09-05-2014 05:01 AM by Mordaunt.)
05-10-2013 11:02 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
Xan
Apprentice
*

Posts: 8
Likes Given: 2
Likes Received: 1 in 1 posts
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 0



Post: #19
RE: World Background Spawner
LOL, yep that did it! Thanks Mordaunt. It was starting to drive me crazy.
05-10-2013 12:38 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
Mordaunt
Super Moderator
****

Posts: 1,237
Likes Given: 26
Likes Received: 55 in 43 posts
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 35



Post: #20
RE: World Background Spawner
np Wink

[Image: 2nis46r.jpg]
05-10-2013 08:55 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

This forum uses Lukasz Tkacz MyBB addons.