The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Use of undefined constant SAPI_NAME - assumed 'SAPI_NAME' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) - Line: 3388 - File: inc/functions.php PHP 7.4.33-nmm7 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/functions.php 3388 errorHandler->error
/showthread.php 116 build_archive_link
Warning [2] Use of undefined constant IN_ARCHIVE - assumed 'IN_ARCHIVE' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) - Line: 3331 - File: inc/functions.php PHP 7.4.33-nmm7 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/functions.php 3331 errorHandler->error
/inc/functions.php 3324 build_forum_breadcrumb
/showthread.php 195 build_forum_breadcrumb
Warning [2] Use of undefined constant IN_ARCHIVE - assumed 'IN_ARCHIVE' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) - Line: 3331 - File: inc/functions.php PHP 7.4.33-nmm7 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/functions.php 3331 errorHandler->error
/showthread.php 195 build_forum_breadcrumb






Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Impossible to reverse md5 passwords
Author Message
Rizz
Master
**

Posts: 396
Likes Given: 21
Likes Received: 14 in 9 posts
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 0



Post: #1
Impossible to reverse md5 passwords
In the past i used the option
// Store password hashed with MD5
Md5Passwords=1

Now i cannot set to 0 otherwise the MD5 code will be the newpass.
Is there a way to come back from MD5 without set manually all the pass?
08-14-2014 12:52 AM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
Skul
Master
**

Posts: 413
Likes Given: 0
Likes Received: 19 in 15 posts
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 9



Post: #2
RE: Impossible to reverse md5 passwords
Quote:09-01-2007, Furio
- Added: MD5HASH returning the md5 hash of the argument.
I assume you would want to change all your passwords back to normal plain text:
Code:
for a 0 <eval <serv.accounts> +-1>
  serv.account.<local.a>.password <md5hash <serv.account.<local.a>.password>>
endfor

Oh, here it really is:
Quote:17-08-2010, ShiryuX
- Added #1566: MD5PASSWORD account function/property to instert or change a MD5 hash as password.
This way you can call: "SERV.ACCOUNT foobar MD5PASSWORD f4d9ff51c527e8ef67d924d4f0a6db66"
So the code should be:
Code:
for a 0 <eval <serv.accounts> +-1>
   serv.account <serv.account.<local.a>.name> md5password <serv.account.<local.a>.password>
endfor

Might want to do a worldsave and backup before performing the script.

"I ask a question to the answer I already know."

Marchadium :: http://www.marchadium.ca/ :: Join us!
(This post was last modified: 08-14-2014 01:20 AM by Skul.)
08-14-2014 01:14 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 1 user Likes Skul's post
Rizz
Master
**

Posts: 396
Likes Given: 21
Likes Received: 14 in 9 posts
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 0



Post: #3
RE: Impossible to reverse md5 passwords
Thx for the code, i will try in local and let you know.
08-14-2014 02:33 AM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
Rizz
Master
**

Posts: 396
Likes Given: 21
Likes Received: 14 in 9 posts
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 0



Post: #4
RE: Impossible to reverse md5 passwords
Noway is not working... the code converts the MD5 password into something shorter but seems MD5 anyway...

0cc175b9c0f1b6a831c399e269772661 -> 0cc175b9c0f1b6a8

EDIT:
actually it cuts every md5 has but doesn't provide the right pass back to normal.
(This post was last modified: 08-14-2014 06:35 AM by Rizz.)
08-14-2014 06:30 AM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
Ben
Sphere Developer
*****

Posts: 612
Likes Given: 2
Likes Received: 123 in 70 posts
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 18

SphereCommunity

Post: #5
RE: Impossible to reverse md5 passwords
there is no way to revert an MD5 hash...
best thing I can suggest would be to use f_onaccount_connect to do a manual password check and reset the password to the password supplied if passed, then set a tag on the account to show that the password was reset already.

AxisII's current version: 2.0.4j
AxisII SourceCode on Github
AxisII up to date changelog
08-14-2014 08:38 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
Rizz
Master
**

Posts: 396
Likes Given: 21
Likes Received: 14 in 9 posts
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 0



Post: #6
RE: Impossible to reverse md5 passwords
There is a way but the rate of success is low: http://md5.gromweb.com/
08-14-2014 05:36 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
Extreme
Grandmaster Poster
***

Posts: 1,141
Likes Given: 217
Likes Received: 90 in 77 posts
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 20

SphereCommunity

Post: #7
RE: Impossible to reverse md5 passwords
(08-14-2014 05:36 PM)Rizz Wrote:  There is a way but the rate of success is low: http://md5.gromweb.com/

No no, they create hashes from words/passwords and compare in database.
Decode md5 is impossible but with a database you can do it.

STEPS BEFORE CREATE A THREAD
- Check the revisions log;
- Use the search button and use the keywords of your problem;
- Check the WIKI;
- Create a thread.
08-15-2014 05:54 AM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
Ben
Sphere Developer
*****

Posts: 612
Likes Given: 2
Likes Received: 123 in 70 posts
Joined: Mar 2010
Reputation: 18

SphereCommunity

Post: #8
RE: Impossible to reverse md5 passwords
ok this is what I was talking about... I just did not test it though.

[FUNCTION f_onaccount_connect] //Read carefully
// The f_onaccount_connect function is called before the sent password is checked.
// local.account --> username of the account connecting.
// local.password --> password given.
// RETURN
// 0 --> Let Sphere do its password checks.
// 1 --> Deny access assuming the given password is wrong.
// 6 --> Force login, without other password checks than the ones made in this function.
IF (!STRCMPI(<SERV.ACCOUNT.<local.account>.PASSWORD>,<MD5HASH <local.password>>) && !<SERV.MD5PASSWORDS>)
SERV.ACCOUNT.<local.account>.PASSWORD = <local.password>
ENDIF
RETURN 0

AxisII's current version: 2.0.4j
AxisII SourceCode on Github
AxisII up to date changelog
08-15-2014 08:59 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 1 user Likes Ben's post
Rizz
Master
**

Posts: 396
Likes Given: 21
Likes Received: 14 in 9 posts
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 0



Post: #9
RE: Impossible to reverse md5 passwords
(08-15-2014 08:59 AM)Ben Wrote:  ok this is what I was talking about... I just did not test it though.

[FUNCTION f_onaccount_connect] //Read carefully
// The f_onaccount_connect function is called before the sent password is checked.
// local.account --> username of the account connecting.
// local.password --> password given.
// RETURN
// 0 --> Let Sphere do its password checks.
// 1 --> Deny access assuming the given password is wrong.
// 6 --> Force login, without other password checks than the ones made in this function.
IF (!STRCMPI(<SERV.ACCOUNT.<local.account>.PASSWORD>,<MD5HASH <local.password>>) && !<SERV.MD5PASSWORDS>)
SERV.ACCOUNT.<local.account>.PASSWORD = <local.password>
ENDIF
RETURN 0

There is problem:
when i shut down the server to change MD5PASSWORDS to 0 then I start again sphere, sphere cuts the MD5 pass in this way:

0cc175b9c0f1b6a831c399e269772661 -> 0cc175b9c0f1b6a8

So the pass will be always wrong.

Code:
09:40:3:Client connected [Total:1] ('127.0.0.1' 1/1)
09:40:3: 'a' bad password
09:40:WARNING:3:Bad Login 3 (The password entered is not correct)
09:40:3:Client disconnected [Total:0] ('127.0.0.1')
(This post was last modified: 08-15-2014 05:41 PM by Rizz.)
08-15-2014 05:40 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
XuN
Sphere Developer
*****

Posts: 852
Likes Given: 102
Likes Received: 156 in 119 posts
Joined: Jul 2013
Reputation: 30



Post: #10
RE: Impossible to reverse md5 passwords
serv.log Account <local.account> connecting with password '<local.password> (<MD5HASH <local.password>>)', real password is '<serv.account.<local.account>.password>'

Try this line before your code, I don't know how you get to receive that error but everything is ok to me.

Look at your code, you are missing a ')' at the end of the IF
08-15-2014 08:27 PM
Find all posts by this user Like Post Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 3 Guest(s)